A conservative daily banned

first_img IranMiddle East – North Africa Call for Iranian New Year pardons for Iran’s 21 imprisoned journalists Follow the news on Iran Organisation News After Hengameh Shahidi’s pardon, RSF asks Supreme Leader to free all imprisoned journalists News Reporters sans frontières recalls that Iran has the sad record of being the largest prison for journalists in the Middle East, with nineteen media professionals behind bars. Most of these prisoners have not yet been tried after months of imprisonment. According to the vice-minister of Culture and Islamic Orientation, more than fifty newspapers (including twenty four dailies) have been shut down since March 2000, not counting student press. Ali Khamenei, the Guide of the Islamic Republic, has been named by RSF as one of the predators of press freedom. News RSF_en June 9, 2021 Find out more Help by sharing this information center_img to go further According to information obtained by RSF, on 24 February, judge Saïd Mortazi ordered a two-month ban of the daily Siyassat-é-Rouz, a newspaper with close links to the conservative movement. The newspaper faces thirty-three complaints. Ali Yousefpour, the newspaper’s managing editor, told Agence France-Presse that this decision followed a complaint by the Ministry of Labor, and said that he would appeal. The exact reasons for the ban are unknown. March 18, 2021 Find out more IranMiddle East – North Africa February 25, 2021 Find out more Iran: Press freedom violations recounted in real time January 2020 Receive email alerts February 25, 2002 – Updated on January 20, 2016 A conservative daily banned In a letter addressed to to the head of the magistracy, Ayatollah Sharudi, Reporters sans frontières (Reporters Without Borders – RSF) protested against the banning for two months of the daily Siyassat-é-Rouz. “We ask you to annul this decision,” said Robert Ménard, secretary general of RSF. Newslast_img read more

Angell Open supports mental health

first_imgPORTLAND — Eliot Potvin, a Hampden native now playing out of Portland, reclaimed his men’s open singles title at the Angell Open on Friday and Saturday at the Racket and Fitness Center.The tournament is a fundraiser for the National Alliance on Mental Illness, Maine as well as advocacy for improved treatment for mental illness. The event is named for the late Chris Angell, one of Maine’s top tennis players, who suffered from paranoid schizophrenia.Potvin won his second straight championship at the tournament by defeating Dana Parziale of Cumberland, R.I., in two sets by scores of 6-3 and 6-3.Potvin was a two-time Maine high school singles champion, a New England sectional singles champion at age 16, and a Maine sectional champion in singles and doubles at age 18. He attended the Georgia Institute of Technology before returning to Maine.This is placeholder textThis is placeholder textHigh school student Ashley Avery of Wellesley, Mass., continued her domination in the women’s open singles division by defeating Julia Bogan of Falmouth, 6-1 and 6-1.Avery then repeated her last year’s win in the mixed doubles with teammate Kip Rogers of Marlborough, Mass., by defeating Anya Lundeberg of San Diego and Max Schuermann of Dover, Mass.Sponsors for the event included the Maine Tennis Association, Hyatt Old Port Hotel, Merle Grindle Agency, Acadia Realty Group, Machias Saving Bank and Bar Harbor Bank and Trust.More results are listed below:Men’s 45 and over: Brian Lomax of Marlborough, Mass., defeated Jeremiah Angell of Edgewater, N.J.Men’s 55 and over: Ward Jannuzzi of Wayland, Mass., defeated August Lozano of Bar Harbor.Men’s open doubles: Connor Fu of Andover, Mass., and Nathan Kaplan of Newton, Mass., defeated Benjamin Biswas of Bedford, Mass., and Ryan Fu of Andover, Mass.Women’s open doubles: Lynne Champoux of North Yarmouth and Linda Cohen of Scarborough defeated Debra Choroszy of Wells and Jodi Sataloff of Cape Elizabeth.last_img read more

Lacey Spring Fun Fair Grand Parade Road Closure

first_imgSubmitted by The City of LaceyThis year marks the 27th anniversary of the Lacey Spring Fun Fair, taking place at Saint Martin’s University on Saturday, May 17 from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., and Sunday, May 18 from 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Road closures are planned to accommodate the Grand Parade, taking place at 6:00 p.m. on that Saturday.Beginning at 2:00 p.m. on Saturday, Woodland Square Loop SE will be closed. At 5:45 p.m., Westbound Pacific Avenue SE will be closed between Carpenter Road and College Street, and College Street SE will be closed from 6th Avenue SE to Pacific Avenue SE. Eastbound movement through the Homann Drive SE roundabout from Lacey Boulevard SE will remain open. Streets will be re-opened to traffic at 8:00 p.m.A free round-trip shuttle service to Saint Martin’s will be offered on Saturday from 10:00 a.m. to 5:15 p.m. from the South Sound Mall, near the Flag Pavilion parking lot. Fair-goers are also encouraged to use Intercity Transit.This free family event draws more than 16,000 attendees throughout the weekend and features entertainment and fun for all ages, including exhibits, interactive inflatables, a 300 foot Zip Line, a Classic Car Show, pony rides, games, food and vendors, and much more. Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom will also be at the fair with exotic animals.Detailed information about the fair can be found at www.laceyspringfunfair.com.Updated road closure notices will be posted at www.ci.lacey.wa.us/project-updates Facebook1Tweet0Pin0last_img read more

Mallard’s Team of the Week — Nelson Peewee Reps

first_imgThe Nelson Peewee Leafs are rolling out the red carpet for 10 other Rep teams in the province as the local club plays host to the B.C. Hockey Peewee Rep AAA Championships beginning Sunday at the NDCC Arena.The Reps open Day one of the five-day tournament with a two-game set against Dawson Creek (7 a.m.) and Quesnel in the feature contest at 8 p.m. The Quesnel game follows the opening ceremonies at 7 p.m. when all the teams will be present.Mallard’s Source for sports would like to give the Leafs a grand send off with Team of the Week honours.The team, coached by Jeff Hunt and assistants Vince Vulcano and Tony Maida, includes, Aedan Osika, Nick Haydu, Kai Simmonds, Reid Vulcano, head coach Jeff Hunt, Ben Price, Elijah Havers, Brett Anderson, Tyler Badger,  Carter Anderson, Mike Zarikoff, Charles Curiston, Cody Barnes, Shayla Elias, Reece Hunt, Taylor Harrison, Brody Fillion and Max Spielman.The trainer is Mark Spielman.The tournament schedule can be found on the BC Hockey website.last_img read more